Det blev ju ett väldigt pådrag efteråt kring Carlota Cigandas dropp på det 15:e hålet och efteråt erkände också domarstaben att fel beslut hade fattats.
Men eftersom ingen ifrågasatte domarnas beslut kring droppen ordentligt eller claimade hålet innan lagen slog ut på 16:e tee så stod sig resultatet och Europa vann till sist matchen.
Så vad var då problemet?
Ciganda tappade ut sitt andraslag i sidovattenhindret. Skärningspunkten fastställdes, men eftersom det handlade om ett sidovattenhinder fastställdes också motsvarande punkt på andra sidan hindret enligt 26-1 c. Från denna skulle Ciganda ha droppat inom två klubblängder men i stället tilläts hon gå så långt bak i flagglinjen hon ville från denna punkt – och hon droppade ungefär 35 meter bakom den punkten.
Inte okej, enligt reglerna.
På presskonferensen efteråt fanns överdomaren Brad Alexander, som fattade det definitiva beslutet med och han var djupt ångerfull. Det har varit en lång dag och det handlar dessutom om golfregler, där minsta lilla översättningsgroda kan göra att jag har Sveriges samlade regelkompetens i mejlboxen imorrn bitti, så jag saxar helt enkelt vad Alexander sa:
THE MODERATOR: At this point I would like to welcome in Brad Alexander and Sue Witters from the Solheim Cup Rules Committee, who will address the situation that happened on the 15th hole today.
BRAD ALEXANDER: Thanks. Yes, there was a rules situation on the 15th hole today involving the player who hit a second shot into a lateral water hazard up by the green. The point that the ball last crossed the margin of the hazard was accurately established, and one of the options under Rule 26‑1 C is fo rthe player to drop her ball on the opposite margin of the hazard equidistant from the hole. This point was alsoaccurately established. Rule 26‑1 C allows the player to drop within two club lengths of that point on the equal andopposite margin. However, a mistake was made and the player was allowed to drop behind that point in line with the flagstick.
Q. What are you saying? Does that mean that something happened? That the result was wrong or what?
BRAD ALEXANDER: The player ended up dropping in a wrong place.
Q. So? What?
BRAD ALEXANDER: But there was no affect on the player, because she was given an incorrect ruling.
Q. So she had two club lengths, how far did she end up dropping from that spot?
BRAD ALEXANDER: She dropped behind that spot by approximately 40 yards. So 40 yards further from the hole than sheactually was.
Q. Who made the ruling?
BRAD ALEXANDER: Originally the match referee started with the ruling and then I gotcalled in for the second opinion.
Q. So this is this a decision that can’t becorrected, so everything stands?
BRAD ALEXANDER: Everything stands.